Breakfast Latkes

Latkes are best eaten at any hour of the day all year round. Expect every year I say I should eat latkes more often and then don’t. Which honestly might be for the best because fried potatoes aren’t exactly nutritious.

But, tis the season for latkes so I whipped up a batch this morning and made some sunny-side up eggs to make it more healthy. That’s how health works right?

Processed with VSCO with e4 preset

My latke recipe is not a recipe. Grate potatoes, slice onions, add eggs, salt, and pepper. Add a little flour for binding and the fry in about 1/8 inch of oil. I scoop out the mix with hands and give it a little squeeze to wring out the excess liquid.

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

I like my latkes crispy around the edges and golden brown. I usually make them pretty thin, they’re not very pancake-ey. Mushy latkes that are more like puddles of fried mashed potatoes are not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

