Easy Hollandaise

Uncategorized

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I love eggs. I feel like that must be clear at this point. But just in case you didn’t know. I really love eggs. So much so that I even like pouring eggs over eggs. Because that’s really what hollandaise is. Eggs and butter.

I’ve been making hollandaise for a while now and I’ve had a few experiences where it separated and I was sad but for the most part it’s been a smooth ride for me and hollandaise. I know it’s supposed to be one of the hardest sauces to make but honestly I think it’s pretty easy and anyone can do it.

I made this one without a recipe but you can find great recipes everywhere online. Food52 has a video and recipe here.

Hollandaise is really just egg yolks, butter, salt, and lemon juice.

You whisk the egg yolks with the lemon juice until they get nice and frothy. Then, using a double boiler, heat the mixture and continue whisking until it gets thick and sort of clumpy. Take it off the heat and whisk in the melted butter.

I’ve seen recipes where you use cubes of butter instead of melted but I think I like the melted better and it makes the whole process way easier.

Whisk in salt at the end and then serve immediately. This is the thing with hollandaise, you have to serve it quickly and you can’t reheat it. At least in my experience trying to reheat it usually just breaks the sauce and only once have I successfully recombined it to be creamy again. So if anyone has any tips on keeping the sauce hot or reheating it please let me know!

Processed with VSCO with q8 preset

Eggs Benedict is typically poached eggs, Canadian bacon, and an english muffin with hollandaise. I’ve made it, I’ve eaten it, I’ve loved it. But really hollandaise tastes good on any combo of eggs and bread. Or just bread (but don’t tell my mom I do that, she’ll worry about my cholesterol).

Leave a Reply

